## UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Farm Service Agency Texas State FSA Office 2405 Texas Avenue South College Station, TX 77840 **TX NOTICE FLP-1381** 

3-FLP (Rev. 2)

#### FOR: County Offices

# **Secretarial Disaster Declaration S5350**

Approved by: State Executive Director

#### 1 Overview

#### A Background

On January 13, 2023, the Secretary of Agriculture designated 92 Texas Counties as primary natural disaster areas. This action is based on damages and losses caused by Excessive Heat occurring May 1, 2022 through September 30, 2022. The primary counties are:

Anderson	Aransas	Armstrong	Austin	Baylor	Bee	Bexar	
Brazos	Briscoe	Burleson	Calhoun	Carson	Castro	Chambers	
Childress	Clay	Cochran	Coke	Collin	Colorado	Concho	
Cooke	Dawson	<b>Deaf Smith</b>	Denton	DeWitt	Duval	Ector	
Ellis	Fannin	Floyd	Foard	Gaines	Glasscock	Gray	
Grayson	Grimes	Hansford	Hardeman	Hardin	Harris	Haskell	
Hemphill	Hill	Houston	Howard	Hutchinson	Jack	Jackson	
Karnes	Kleberg	Lamar	Lamb	Leon	Liberty	Live Oak	
Lynn	McMullen	Madison	Martin	Medina	Menard	Midland	
Mitchell	Montgomery	Navarro	Nueces	Oldham	Potter	Randall	
Roberts	Robertson	San Patricio	Schleicher	Scurry	Sterling	Stonewall	
Sutton	Terry	Throckmorto	on Tom Green	ı Val Verde	Victoria	Walker	
Waller	Washington	Webb	Wharton	Wheeler	Wilbarger	Yoakum	
Young							
In addition to the above counties, 101 other Texas counties are named as contiguous where eligible							
family farmers may qualify for FSA EM loan assistance, pursuant to section 321 (a) of the Consolidated							
Farm and Rural Development Act. Those counties are:							
Andrews	Angelina	Archer	Atascosa	Bailey	Bandera	Borden	

Andrews	Angelina	Archer	Atascosa	Bailey	Bandera	Borden
Bosque	Brazoria	Brooks	Cherokee	Coleman	Collingswo	rth Comal
Cottle	Crane	Crockett	Crosby	Dallas	Delta	Dickens
Dimmit	Donley	Edwards	Falls	Fayette	Fisher	Fort Bend
Freestone	Frio	Galveston	Garza	Goliad	Gonzales	Guadalupe

Disposal Date	Distribution (6-RMH/1/30/2023)	
January 31, 2024	County Offices	
1/20/2022	¢ DMII	Daga

#### TX Notice FLP-1381

Hale	Hall	Hartley	Henderson	Hockley	Hunt	Irion
Jasper	Jefferson	Jim Hogg	Jim Wells	Johnson	Jones	Kaufman
Kendall	Kenedy	Kent	Kimble	King	Kinney	Knox
La Salle	Lavaca	Lee	Limestone	Lipscomb	Lubbock	McCulloch
McLennan	Mason	Matagorda	Maverick	Milam	Montague	Moore
Motley	Nolan	Ochiltree	Orange	Palo Pinto	Parker	Parmer
Polk	Reagan	<b>Red River</b>	Refugio	Rockwall	Runnels	San Jacinto
Shackelford	Sherman	Stephens	Swisher	Tarrant	Terrell	Trinity
Tyler	Upton	Uvalde	Ward	Wichita	Wilson	Winkler
Wise	Zapata	Zavala				

Also, in accordance with section 321 (a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, counties in an adjacent State that are contiguous to one or more of the designated **Texas counties**, are named as contiguous counties where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA EM loan assistance. For this designation, the affected States and counties are: New Mexico (4) Curry Lea Ouay Roosevelt

	Curry	Lla	Quay	KUUSEVEIL	
<u>Oklahoma (</u> 13)	Beckham Harmon Roger Mills	Bryan Jackson Texas	Choctaw Jefferson Tillman	Cotton Love	Ellis Marshall

This designation makes farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for low-interest emergency loans from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

## **B** Application Deadline

EM Loan applications will be received through **September 13, 2023** for **production and physical losses.** 

# 2 Action

## **A** Exceptions for Application Deadlines

County Offices shall thoroughly review Exhibit 1.

## **B** Determining Security Values

For the purpose of determining loan security values for loan applications, the beginning date of the incidence period is **May 1, 2022.** 

## C District Director's and Farm Loan Manager's Responsibilities

District Directors and Farm Loan Managers shall follow instructions according to 3-FLP (Rev. 2), and FmHA Instruction 1945-A for emergency loan applicability.

## TX Notice FLP-1381

The Farm Loan Manager shall notify borrowers of Disaster Set-Aside (DSA) availability in accordance with handbook 5-FLP paragraph 42.

#### **D** Public Announcements

Special emphasis will be placed on informing the farm community through public announcements and arranging and conducting meetings with local Agricultural lenders and leaders.

#### **3** Contact Point

#### **A** Inquires

If there are questions concerning this notice, contact the Conservation or Farm Loan Program Division.

### Subject: Secretarial Disaster Declaration S5350

Please carefully review the notice listing the primary and contiguous counties determined eligible by the Secretary and the Emergency Preparedness and Programs Branch for emergency (EM) loans effective **January 13, 2023.** 

This declaration is coded **S5350**, and EM loan applications will be received through **September 13**, **2023.** For the purpose of determining loan security values for loan applications, the beginning date of the incidence period is **May 1, 2022**.

Please proceed to take the appropriate notification and coordination actions required by Handbook 1-DIS and 7CFR part 759.